Friday, February 13, 2009

Duxbury Art Association's Winter Juried Show 2009

I'm honored to be juried into the Duxbury Art Association 2009 Winter Juried Show with my photograph Rodeo III. The juror for photography was Lou Jones. The show will run from February 8 to April 26th at 186 Alden Street in Duxbury, MA.

Here's the complete list of participants.

Phyllis Adams
Franny Andahazy
Marian C.Atkinson
Sylvana Baracchini
Robin Beckwith
Christina Beecher
Evelyn Bernal
Patricia Berube
James Bird
Janet C. Blagdon
Stephen Boczanowski
Robert Bolster
Kristine Brennen
Dennis Broadbent
Kelly Carmody
Judith Chaves
Lilly Cleveland
Nancy Colella
Jane Flavell Collins
Meredith Wildes Cornell
Michael Coyne
Patricia L. Cullen
Donald Dacier
Deborah Ellen Davies
Susan G. Denniston
Esme YC Disch
Kathy Dixon
Sandra L. Donnellan
Dennis Doyle
Russell du Pont
James F. Earl
Dominic J. Farrell
Georgia Fletcher
Jack Foley
D. Randolph Foulds
Kate Garrity
Linda L.Garrity
Anne Garton
JoAnn Gouzoules
Ellen Gower
Karyn Frances Gray
Michael S.Guertin
Susan Hagstrom
Wendy Hale
Becky Haletky
Stephen Haley
Anne Henning
Stephen H. Holland
June Hollisian
Vin Horrigan
Wilson Hunt, Jr.
Shirley M. Jenkins
Ruth Jensen
Roger Carl Johanson
Susan Kelley
Brooks Kelly
Danguole Rita Kuolas
Andrew Kusmin
Susan LaFevre
Robert Lavery
Eleanor B. Lawson
Priscilla Levesque
David P. Locarno
Jim Lo Piccolo
Jeanne MacFarland
Lisa Mackin
Heidi Mayo
Jan McElhinny
Jeanne McKenna
Margaret McWethy
Michele Meister
Felice Mendell
Dianne Miller
David Monteiro
Mary Moquin
Amy B. Moran
Paul Munroe
Yale S. Nicolls
Ann Marie Oliver-Nickerson
Carol O'Malia
Judy Pollock
Glenn Pollock
Deborah Putnam
Page Railsback
MJ Rest
James J. Richard
Stephanie Roberts-Camello
Rain Rodolph
Betty Rogers
Donna Rossetti-Bailey
Nan Rumpf
Elizabeth M. Ryan
Leigh Ryan
Mary Schiess
Luis Seoane
Marcia Sewall
Katherine Smit
Susan R. Smith
Maureen D. Spinale
Chuck Sullivan
Chuck Tamulynas
Lisa Tang Liu
Anne Tcherepnin
Albert L. Tousignant
Lanci Valentine
Collen Vandeventer
Linda Vopat
Nancy Motley Walton
Tina Watson
Paul Weiner
Susan White
Virginia Wilson
Denise Zompa

Tuesday, February 03, 2009

ABSTRACTION NOW at the Firehouse Plaza Gallery at Nassau Community College

I was truly honored to be with 36 other chosen entries to participate in the show ABSTRACTION NOW, juried by Franklin Hill Perrell, Chief Curator at the Nassau County Museum of Art. The show was hosted by the Nassau Community College art department. What a beautiful gallery space it is!

As mentioned before, my painting AMERICAN ICONS 1: 492 DAYS was chosen among over 300 entries from across the US as well as Europe.

My mother took one hour off from her tax-season Saturday to attend the reception this past Saturday. My sister Vivian and brother-in-law Jonathan were also there. I didn't win any prizes, but I was just grateful and honored to have gotten in.

The show was very strong, and here is the list of works presented there:

Donald A. Budd -- Desert Stripes, acrylic.
Marc Deppe -- Spartan, mixed media on paper.
Matt Dibble -- Chased from the Market, oil on canvas.
Cathy Eckdahl -- Medea, gouache/ink.
Sam Faix -- Ten Foot Wall, oil on panel.
Matthew Farina -- Thatch, oil/canvas.
Richard Gachot -- Action-Reaction, animated sculpture. BEST IN SHOW.
Richard Gachot -- Drip, acrylic.
Eric Galandak -- Most, oil.
Richard Garrigus -- August Field, oil on panel.
David Gerlach -- Zephr, steel.
Lawrence Glickman -- Neruda Song 1, acrylic.
William Grabowski -- Celestia, digital photo.
Ruth Hamill -- Ocean Breeze, oil on raw canvas.
Eleanor Himel -- Jones Beach Sunday, acrylic. AWARD OF EXCELLENCE.
Wei-An Huang -- Within and Without #3, acrylic on canvas.
Greg Ike -- Orchid, acrylic on canvas. HONORABLE MENTION AWARD.
Kenneth Kaplowitz -- Adam Names The Fish, pigment print
Peggy Klineman -- The Tree Outside My Building, oil on canvas.
Jon Leach -- Local Commerce, mixed media.
Adrienne Leban -- 5.31.07, mixed media.
Gili Levy -- Piano, oil and paper on canvas.
Jonathan Levy -- Peacock, acrylic on canvas. HONORABLE MENTION AWARD.
Richard Margolies -- Dream Catcher, acrylic.
Milt Masur -- Flowerbed in Anchorage, enamel bas-relief. HONORABLE MENTION AWARD.
Kevin Mertens -- Spider-Rabbit, mixed media on panel. HONORABLE MENTION AWARD.
Puneeta Mittal -- Pluripotent XXXII, oil on panel. AWARD OF EXCELLENCE.
Marcie Paper-- Untitled #103, acrylic on panel.
Rebecca Perez -- Untitled, oil and mixed media.
Susan Reedy -- Graffito, mixed media. HONORABLE MENTION AWARD.
Cheryl Safren -- Rund 'n Rerund, mixed media.
Denise Segreti DiGiovanna -- Sea Life Series: Bat Star, oil.
George V. Sordoni -- Moments G, oil on canvas.
Kenneth Susynski -- Wedding Song, oil on canvas.
Lisa Tang Liu -- American Icons I: 492 Days, oil on canvas.
Grant Vetter -- Fair-Skinned, oil on canvas.
Rachael Wren -- Portent, oil on canvas.